How I Get Ready For The Red Carpet

Hi babes,

As some of you know, I’m an entertainment reporter by day and a beauty/fashion fangirl by night. When I’m not gushing about the latest skincare products or talking about how much coffee I desperately need, I’m interviewing celebrities or writing about them.

I get a lot of questions about what it’s like to meet celebrities and what I do to prepare questions. A lot of people also ask me how I get ready – it’s no walk in the park, let me tell you. I want to share a few behind-the-scenes moments and the hustle that goes into it!

Red Carpet Interviews

When I know that I need to cover an event, I always try to get a good night’s sleep. It’s so important – have you not heard of the term beauty sleep? But seriously, I need my rest or else I’m stressed and panicked the entire day.  If I have time, I’ll hit the gym in the morning.

Also, what they say is true – the camera really does add 10lbs. Sometimes, the camera is so evil it will add more. I always start the day with coffee and I do extra research on the celebs attending the event. I make sure I’m up-to-date with everything happening in the world/trending topics on social media.

Red Carpet Interviews

People seem to forget this, and I don’t blame them since it’s the most boring part of the job, but I have to do my research. I can’t just show up to a red carpet and not know anything about the celebrities walking the red carpet. I need to know what projects they’re working on, what shows they’re binging, who they’re dating, etc. Celebrities like to show up unannounced – go figure! – so I have to make sure my phone is charged that way I can do research on the spot. Thank goodness for Smartphones!

Having a journal filled with questions and information is what keeps me sane. I always have notebooks lying around, even small ones, that way they fit easily into my purse when a question pops up while I’m out.

Red Carpet Interviews

Now to the fun stuff! The night before, I like to give myself outfit ideas. During the summer months, it’s HOT and I don’t play around. I usually opt for a dress. Okay, to be fair I always go with a dress. I’ll pick something that not only flatters me but that is comfortable to wear for a couple of hours. Most of these carpets are chaotic, so I need something that looks great and that I can easily move around in. Thank you Spanx for sucking everything in while making me stay comfortable!

Red Carpet Interviews

My boyfriend probably wishes I only had 3 heels because I’m taking up all of the closet space. For this post, I have 3 go-to shoes that are my ride or die. They are comfortable, cute, and worthy to meet celebrities. I’m a petite chica, so heels are always a must, especially when most celebs are amazons. I also hate getting blisters and sore feet. These shoes keep me from falling, cursing, and hating my shoe choices. LOL

Red Carpet Interviews

I love wearing my hair in waves or big curls. It just makes me feel glamorous and sexy, like Sofia Vergara. The reason I love wearing my hair in waves is because the heat (and unsexy sweat that happens when it’s 100 degrees in Cali) makes my hair frizz. When it’s straight, frizzy hair is not a cute look. I can’t have crazy hair when I’m meeting my celebrity man crush can I? HELL NO! With waves, frizzy hair just makes it look more tousled and I feel like a true Cali girl at the beach.

Red Carpet Interviews

I usually get a lot of questions about my makeup and how I make it last all day during an event. The truth is, nothing lasts 24 hours even if it claims to be. I always keep a small makeup bag in my purse and do touch ups when I have a break. However, I’ve picked up a few tricks along the way. I used to love wearing bold lip colors, like bright pinks and dramatic reds. I’ve learned that having lipstick smeared on your teeth while chatting with Mr. McDreamy is not cute and it’s totally embarrassing. Again, those red carpets are chaotic, so I don’t have time to keep applying lipstick.

Most of the time it dries up and gets crusty. That’s also not a cute look and it’s VERY embarrassing. Instead, I focus on my eyes. I love a dramatic eye look. Not only are the eyes the window to your soul but you don’t have to worry as much about it smudging everywhere. I rather a celebrity focus their attention on my eyes instead of my crusty lips. I keep mascara on hand and I always, always wear false lashes. Again, I love the drama!

Red Carpet Interviews

****

I would love to hear your thoughts on this post! Share your favorite red carpet moments with me and leave any other questions you have for me down below! xoxo

Leave a Reply

