Selena Quintanilla Continues to Inspire 20 Years After Her Death

I’ve posted a lot of stuff about Selena Quintanilla  lately. She still inspires me to stay true to who I am. Her music and attitude gives me pride in being a Mexican-American. Selena will forever and always be one of my role models. Because of her influence, I feel empowered and encouraged to follow my dreams in entertainment. 

I paid homage to her iconic outfits on Buzzfeed (shameless promotion to my article). Her outfits are still significant today. Pop stars like Katy Perry, Selena Gomez, Miley Cyrus and many others are bringing back the colorful bustiers. It’s also no secret that Taylor Swift only wears red lipstick. Let’s be honest, Selena kept that trend going after Marilyn Monroe passed.

****

Listening to Selena’s music (on loop) and watching her film motivates me to dream big!

Movie Quotes I love from the film:

“We have to be more Mexican than the Mexicans and more American than the Americans, both at the same time! It’s exhausting!”

“You can’t be anything if you don’t know who you are.”

Because I will always carry Selena in my heart, I decided to share with you all why I love her so much (video below). She had a huge impact on the Latino community. She broke many barriers for women, especially minority women. No one dared to enter a male-dominated industry, let alone strive to be successful in it, but Selena proved that women can do anything! Her influence in the media opened doors for minorities wanting to break out in a national market. She accomplished so many things in her short life. I always wonder what she would’ve done today. She was a true trailblazer and a true, talented artist. Her amazing voice will continue to live on through her incredible music.

Also, me goofing around with my red lipstick on!

IMG_7361 IMG_7364 IMG_7368 IMG_7369 IMG_7372 IMG_7373

Check out one of my favorite outfits and performances by Selena:

2 thoughts on “Selena Quintanilla Continues to Inspire 20 Years After Her Death

  1. All I have to say after reading this article and watching your vid is. AMEN! You are spot on! I remember like it was yesterday when she was murdered. I love Selena! She epitomizes not only what a great natural talent should be but, my GAWD she was a flawless woman! Her beauty was impeccable! Every time I hear her music I jump for joy and get super sad simultaneously! Can you imagine what her career would be now? Can you even imagine how freaking HUUUUUGE she’d be world wide! Ridiculous just to think! Wow! It saddens me greatly even more just thinking about it! Movies, commercials, beauty products, music, jeez it would be Selena’s world and we would be just pawns it it! HEHEHE!! Anyway, great job and thank you for loving her as I do! Like in her song “Como la flor” Pero haaaaaaaay como me duele! Que nos hayan robado a la joya de nuestra vida y raza! From Washington, D.C. / Nicaraguense por gracia de Dios!

    • Omg! I’m so glad there are so many Selena fans out there! She is still such an inspiration! I mean, her voice, her fashion and her personality! I mean, she was the complete package.

Leave a Reply

