3 Things I Learned from Lena Dunham’s Book

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 1.43.43 PM

Lena Dunham is my spirit animal. I love her charm and sometimes not-so-charming personality, but seriously who can be perky all the time? She has a certain candor and nonchalant way of telling her stories and sharing her experiences. Most people, especially celebrities, share compelling and enchanting stories about themselves as if their entire experiences have been a Cinderella fairytale.

Lena has a way of explaining things the way they actually happened, meaning that most of the time her stories are filled with embarrassment, lame encounters and disheveled appearances. But you know what, those are the stories I remember most. Nothing ever really happens perfectly because it’s real life.

She is amazeballs.

3 Things I Learned from Lena’s Book:

 

1. Sex in real life is definitely not the same as it is on the big screen

“If I was going to write honestly about twenty-something life, sex was topic I’d have to address head-on. And the sex in television and movies had always rubbed me the wrong way. Everything I saw as a child, … had led me to believe that sex was a cringey, warmly lit event where two smooth-skinned, gooey-eyed losers achieved mutual orgasm by breathing on each other’s faces.”

 

2. Not everyone will find a job immediately after graduation (including me)

“I was unemployed. And while I had a roof over my head (my parents’) and food to eat (also technically theirs), my days were shapeless, and the disappointment of the people who loved me (my parents) was palpable. I slept until noon, became defensive when asked about my plans for the future, and gained weight like it was viable profession. I was becoming the kind of adult parents worry about producing.”

3. It’s never too late to be ambitious

“But ambition is a funny thing: it creeps in when you least expect it and keeps you moving, even when you think you want to stay put. I missed making things, the meaning it gave this long march we call life.”

 

—-

More reason to love her

Leave a Reply

