5 Things I Learned From Reading #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

If there’s one fact that I could share with strangers, it’s that I love reading memoirs. I enjoy learning about how people struggled with many difficulties, but still overcame them through ambition, passion and a little bit of rebellion. That’s why it’s no surprise that when I saw Lena Dunham post a picture of Sophia Amoruso’s new book, I had to read it. If someone like Lena was taking time out of her intensely busy schedule to read about someone, then maybe I should, too (considering my days aren’t as crazy as hers). And, of course, reading this book not only opened my eyes to the world of business, but it also taught me that sleepless nights, hard work and determination are essential when starting out in any field. I’ll be living in LA in less than 2 months to follow my dream of becoming an established entertainment reporter. Thank you, Sophia for your wise words of wisdom. Who knows? Maybe I’ll run into her while I’m there… one can dream… that is one of her tips.

1. MONEY LOOKS BETTER IN THE BANK THAN ON YOUR FEET:

 While I love shopping for shoes, I learned that I don’t want to be living paycheck to paycheck.

2. ON HIRING, STAYING EMPLOYED, AND FIRING:

Because I am graduating soon (scary), this chapter gave me a wake up call on all the “wrongs” I’m doing when crafting a cover letter and sending out emails to potential employers.

3. HOCUS POCUS: THE POWER OF MAGICAL THINKING:

There’s no such thing as luck, but there is such a thing as creating your own magic through hard work, creativity and ambition.

4. TAKING CARE OF (YOUR) BUSINESS:

It’s okay to dream big, but sometimes, most of the time, you have to start small.

5. THE CHANCES:

“Difficult doesn’t mean impossible”

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned From Reading #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

Leave a Reply

